Wheat Grass

We produce loose leaf wheatgrass tea which is gluten and caffeine free. Many studies have been carried out on the health benefits of Wheatgrass. Examples of some of the studies are cited below and we invite you to seek further information via the links.


A study on wheat grass and it’s Nutritional value

"Wheat Grass refers to the young grass of the common wheat plant, Triticum aestivum that is freshly juiced or dried into powder for animal and human consumption. Both provide chlorophyll, amino acids, minerals, vitamins, and enzymes. Wheat grass is a humble weed that is a powerhouse of nutrients and vitamins for the human body. In the form of fresh juice, it has high concentrations of chlorophyll, active enzymes, vitamins and other nutrients."
http://www.iiste.org/Journals/index.php/FSQM/article/view/1053/973
Download Study Paper


JPRCH Wheat grass Health Benefits

“Wheatgrass is a commonly found herb in India contains enzymes like protease, cytrochrome, amylase, lipase, transhydrogenase and SOD (super oxide dismutase). Besides these enzymes, it also contains all the essential amino acids especially alanine, asparatic acid, glutamic acid, arginine and serine, which are helpful in providing good amount of protein in body which builds and repair tissues. Wheatgrass contains chlorophyll and flavonoids in good amount.”
www.jprhc.in/index.php/ajprhc/article/download/120/112
Download Paper


Antiproliferative, apoptotic and antioxidant activities of wheatgrass (Triticum aestivum L.) extract on CML (K562) cell line

“Wheat germinated over a period of 6-10 days is generally called wheatgrass (5). During germination, vitamins, minerals, and phenolic compounds including fl avonoids are synthesized in wheat sprouts, and wheat sprouts reach the maximum antioxidant potential (5).”
http://journals.tubitak.gov.tr/medical/issues/sag-11-41-4/sag-41-4-13-0912-425.pdf
Download Paper


Are wheat grass and barley grass gluten-free?

“The type of gluten that causes reactions in those with celiac disease andgluten sensitivity occurs in the grains — i.e., the seeds — produced by the grass plants wheat, barley and rye. (For more explanation of this, see my articleWhat Is Gluten.)
Pure wheat grass and barley grass (just the grass, with absolutely no seeds) do not contain gluten.”

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/everydaymedicalissues/f/Are-Wheat-Grass-And-Barley-Grass-Gluten-Free.htm
Download Website